Transfers, New Companion, Same Area, Many Miracles!

September 22, 2014

Mi maravillosa Familas y Amigos!

Well one thing to start off with is that I am NOT the new district leader! Which was actually a surprise to all of us in my district! In a way I am happy and know that I have a lot more to learn and prepare for before I ever get that chance! I’m still in Chinameca and how I’m the senior companion as my new companion, Elder San Diego, He has 13ish months on the mission, learns the area! It’s been pretty stressful because before the transfers Elder Rodriguez and I basically started over with investigators and our referrals and so now we only have like roughly 10 or 15 investigators that we can teach and like 10ish referrals that I don’t know where they live…. But I am working hard with Elder San Diego to find those people that are prepared to hear the gospel and make those sacred covenants with Heavenly Father and Christ! So with me leading the area I have noticed one thing…. My Spanish is a lot better than I give myself credit BUT I still have LOTS to LEARN haha… You never truly stop learning thats for sure…

So, we went to visit Fransisco Cordova, who is getting baptized this week, and he had some doubts and questions about the commandments especially about keeping the Sabbath Day Holy. At times he has to work on Sundays and was worried that he couldn’t be baptized because of it and said that keeping those commandments of God are really hard! Well we taught him, as how it was with me when I had to work Sundays, that as long as he was able to attend church for the three hours or AT LEAST sacrament meeting he would be ok! As one apostle taught, I believe, that it would be better if you don’t work on Sundays at all! but if you have to try to be able to go to the sacrament meeting at least. We also taught him that keeping those commandments are a sacrafice on our part, and Heavenly Father knows this. BUT those sacrafices are what brings us the most blessings! He told us that he has felt a change in his life since we have been teaching him and that he has been following those commandments. His health is improving, from not drinking coffee, and that he has been feeling like a different person! I testify that the power of conversion is real! He is really excited about being baptised this weekend! I have learned that the people that live in Central America and South America are more strict on those commandments then we are in the states… If they watch tv or watch any sport especially soccer on Sunday they get reprimanded by there Bishop and Stake President!!! haha it’s kind of sad in a way but it makes sense. It’s a distraction to us from remembering Heavenly Father and all that he does for us.

Well, we also visited Marciano, we call him Martian from Mars 😉 haha, and we were there for 2 hours teaching him… BUT it was good in a way because he understands EVERYTHING about what the missionaries have taught him from the past 8 years… he has so much knowledge of the church but he doesn’t accept the invitation to be baptized and doesn’t want to get married. He’s been reading too much of what Paul teaches in the bible…. haha but as we taught him, he actually had the desire to be baptized and confirmed a member of the church! It was actually a really powerful lesson! sure he’s a little bit crazy but I believe that he will accept us one day!

Everything is going well here! Pretty stressed about not having a lot to teach and always stressing about the language, but I know that everyday I’m learning something new! we are working hard here in chinameca and basically starting a new!

Thank you all for your love and support! I am grateful for all of you and your never ending prayers! I love you all and hope things are going well for you all!

Con mucho amor y mucho gratitud,
Elder Nikolas White

This entry was posted in Letters, emails and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

