Chikungunya Fever STRIKES!!!! and many disappointments….

October 6, 2014

My dearly beloved friends and family!

Apparently conference was really great! But I didn’t have the opportunity to watch it in English…. only in Spanish… que chafa este bolado… haha but as I was somewhat listening and trying to understand, I had a lot of time to think about these past 6 months. I can definitely say that too much thinking is bad for me haha. But I happened to receive 3 letters from Uncle Mark and the last letter that I read really helped me understand what I am doing here and why I am here. I wrote down my thoughts and feelings as my companion was sleeping these past 2 days with Chikungunya ….

Well it was conference weekend. The lame part is that I couldn’t watch it in English. The next is that I missed my family. Being in the comforts of my own home with my family. It’s something I wanted deeply in my heart. It didn’t help that my companion wasn’t feeling good and had Chikungunya… it’s like having arthritis in your bones and you have no strength or energy to do a whole lot. So like I said above I had a lot of time to think… as I read the last letter that Uncle Mark wrote to me he said he was grateful for my letter that I sent to him and that it’s ok not to always write back. He said that my blog was all that he needed for communication and that it helped him repent. First I didn’t think I had that much effect, but for me it’s good to know that I am helping those back at home. As I continued to read the letter he wrote about home teaching and how he could be a better home teacher. He said, to be a better home teacher it would go against the agency of the families that I teach. I thought about that for myself and how I can become a better missionary and have more success, like what Mark said, it would go against the agency of the people of El Salvador. Sometimes I just want things to be easy and things to go my way. As a child of God and for all eternity nothing is ever by our own time. It will and always will be on the Lord’s own time. We have to humble ourselves and break our pride for those things that we want to become better. Sure with a humble heart and a willing heart to act on those answers that we will receive through prayer, we will become that better person whether it be a missionary, home teacher, father, mother, etc. It all happens with a humble and a willing heart. It is always on the Lord’s time. My mother sent me a letter about this when I was struggling with the language and my companion was being pretty rude. My dad as well sent me a letter about being as Alma and the four sons of Mosiah. Especially Ammon who had a mighty change of heart. And marched forth into the lands of the Lamanites and converted King Lamoni and most of his people. Later on, Alma and the four sons of Mosiah rejoined and they said that many times they were so tired and depressed that many times they had the desire to go home. But the Lord commanded them to return and they converted an entire people and renamed them as the people of Ammon. If we could all be like Alma and the four sons of Mosiah and never give up and continue to work hard. And when the Lord has commanded them to return they have seen the fruits of their labor. We too can see the fruits of our labors, if we continue to work diligently. As I recap my first 6 months out on the field I can see the trials and the challenges are preparing me for the rest of my mission. Then for the rest of my life. As President Osmin, Branch President, said to our investigator that trials, afflictions, sicknesses, etc. are a part of life. It has been since the fall of Adam and Eve, and will continue till the second coming of Jesus Christ. This is why the atonement is so important. Jesus Christ suffered for us, that through him, we can be saved from these pains, guilt, and sorrows. Christ has a perfect knowledge of everything and he will help us feel at peace, happy, and patient. Thanks to my sweet Uncle Mark I have been reminded of why I am here serving.

I honestly don’t have much to say about my area other than I am struggling finding investigators to teach…. and those that are prepared to make those covenants….

Thank you all for your prayers and love! I love you all and hope things are going well at home!

Elder Nikolas White

(Side note: I think his Spanish is improving because I have to spend most of my time fixing all his errors, I know his English writing was never great, but Holy Buckets it has never been this bad. And I think he forgot my birthday this week. It is a good thing his behind isn’t here in the States or He would be in a world of hurt. But then he never remembered when he was here. Don’t know why I am surprised. Another side note: I am grateful that he is feeling a loss of not being home, but he wasn’t home even though he lived here. So it is good to hear that he misses us. But not enough to remember my BIRTHDAY!! The stinker!! Another side note: Half the time I don’t have a clue what he is writing about, but if it makes sense to him….Great!)

Chikungunya (pronunciation: \chik-en-gun-ye) virus is transmitted to people by mosquitoes. The most common symptoms of chikungunya virus infection are fever and joint pain. Other symptoms may include headache, muscle pain, joint swelling, or rash. (Fun)

This entry was posted in Letters, emails and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

