Nephi´s Example

May 4, 2015

Buenas mis queridas Familia y Amigos

Well, I think I will start off with talking about a specific book that I found here on the mission that has made a big impact on things here on the mission for me. This book is called ¨making the most of your mission¨ by John D. Whetten. I’m not sure if I told you guys about this book before but its a really good book for those that are going to be leaving for the mission or on the mission as well. I was reading a certain part about prayer and how we should pray! He gave suggestions on how to pray:

1. Instead of starting right out in prayer, prepare yourself by thinking about to whom you are going to be talking. Cast from your mind the pressures and concerns of the world outside. Strive to visually perceive to whom you are talking. Try to enter the presence of your eternal Father. Realize the glory and power of the Lord.

2. When you feel that you are in his presence, speak to him as you would your closest friend. Open your whole heart. Be yourself, simply and humbly, for he knows you as you are anyway.

3. As you truly pour out your heart, you will become conscious of your own weaknesses, and you will desire to repent of them and strive harder. This pouring out of your heart and soul to the Lord includes repentance and striving to stand righteously before him and to receive direction and guidance in your life.

4. You will become aware of his great blessings to you. Each of your prayers should concentrate on expressing your gratitude for all the Lord has done for you. Remember an un-grateful heart is an abomination to the lord. (see D&C 59:7)

5. As you finish your conversation, don´t close your mind as well as your prayer. Contemplate for a minute the power and joy of having communed with your Heavenly Father.

6. This type of communion with the Lord should occur daily, even hourly within your heart.

7. You must then await the answer. Sometimes we predetermine in our own minds how the Lord will answer. This is not right; we should be open to all the ways the Lord has told us he answers our prayers. The Lord answers prayers in at least the following ways:
a. a vision (like those of Joseph Smith).
b. a dream (like that of Jacob in the Old Testament).
c. a burning in the bosom. (D&C 9:8)
d. a feeling that a decision is right. (D&C 9:8)
this may be a strong feeling, or a quiet assurance (John 3:8) that grows like a seed (Alma 32) into a sure knowledge.
e. peace to the soul. ¨Did I not speak peace to your mind concerning the matter? What greater witness can you have than from god?¨ (D&C 6:23)

8. Our prayers are not always immediately answered. Often the Lord in his great wisdom wants us to become more humble and in greater harmony with him, by sometimes making us wait for our answer, the Lord helps us become more like him.

I the thought of the experiences of Nephi in 1 Nephi 3:7: ¨I will go and do the things which the lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.¨

Then following this, Nephi shows his personal relationship with the Lord in 2 Nephi 4:16-17, 19, & 34:
16: ¨Behold, my soul delighteth in the things of the Lord; and my heart pondereth continually upon the things which I have seen and heard.
17: ¨Nevertheless, notwhithstanding the great goodness of the Lord, in showing me his great and marvelous works, my heart exclaimeth: O wretched man that I am! Yea, my heart sorroweth because of my flesh; my soul grieveth because of mine iniquities.
19: ¨And when I desire to rejoice, My heart groaneth because of my sins: nevertheless, I know in whom I have trusted.
34: ¨O Lord, I have trusted in thee, and I will trust in thee forever. I will not put my trust in the arm of flesh; for I know that cursed is he that putteth his trust in the arm of flesh. Yea, cursed is he that putteth his trust in man or maketh flesh his arm.¨

When I re-read these verses, I understood the same feelings of rejoice and sorrow. But something that Nephi DIDN’T do, was give up and walk away. He continued on holding fast to the word of God though he knew that he was not perfect. He didn’t let his weaknesses or sorrows drown out his purpose here on earth. I later read in D&C 136: 29-32:

29 If thou art sorrowful, call on the Lord thy God with supplication, that your souls may be joyful.
30 Fear not thine enemies, for they are in mine hands and I will do my pleasure with them.
31 My people must be tried in all things, that they may be prepared to receive the glory that I have for them, even the glory of Zion; and he that will not bear chastisement is not worthy of my kingdom.
32 Let him that is ignorant learn wisdom by humbling himself and calling upon the Lord his God, that his eyes may be opened that he may see, and his ears opened that he may hear;

I testify of the truthfulness of these things that I have learned. This life isn’t easy, It wasn´t suppose to be easy or we would NEVER learn. The Father has put us so close to the magma of Hell that we as coals could form and shape to be that perfect diamond in the end. A coal can’t form into diamond in the heart of the magma or it would be totally destroyed. The coal is pressured against the earth next to the highest degree of heat to turn into that precious, beautiful diamond. Another great example of this is the wine and olive oil press. Sometimes we will feel like everything is against us and that we will die from the pressure within. But its the same as the diamond to come out new, different, and beautiful, we need to go through these pressuring times and difficulties.

I love each and everyone of you and I hope that all is going well. I noticed that school is coming to an end again and I still can’t believe how fast the time is flying by. I look forward to be seeing and talking with my family this coming Sunday. Take care and have a good week.

Happy mothers day to my grandmas, aunts, and cousins (of whom have children 🙂 Especially to my Mom, See you this Sunday.

Con mucho amor y gratitud,
Elder White

(Mommy Note: Ok where is my son and who is in his place!! I am grateful that Nikolas is learning and growing. I could not ask for a better experience than serving the Lord and learning the lessons in Life so quickly. Also I am glad that he remembered me in the end!! Tee Hee!! I think I just my Mother’s Day present early!!)

This entry was posted in Letters, emails and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

