Short of time

May 18, 2015

Buenas Mi familia y Amigos,

Well… I am running out of time… haha President sent a huge email to all the missionaries about what some missionaries are doing and the disobedience and such like that… but I will type as fast as my mind allows me to remember certain activities that happened this week…

So my companion and I are starting to teach English to the community, where we live! It’s not like what I expected with adults and teenagers… its just teenagers, immature teenagers… LOL it just reminds me of my teenage years 😉 sorry mom for being such a terrible teen… lol But its been pretty successful! Tuesday we had 27 people that came and then on Thursday we had 35! I’m hoping that we will be able to get some references from doing this… or at least soften the hearts of the people here in the area… lol I was talking to the Trinidad family and I shared these scriptures with her: in Alma 26

26 But behold, my beloved brethren, we came into the wilderness not with the intent to destroy our brethren, but with the intent that perhaps we might save some few of their souls.
27 Now when our hearts were depressed, and we were about to turn back, behold, the Lord comforted us, and said: Go amongst thy brethren, the Lamanites, and bear with patience thine afflictions, and I will give unto you success.
28 And now behold, we have come, and been forth amongst them; and we have been patient in our sufferings, and we have suffered every privation; yea, we have traveled from house to house, relying upon the mercies of the world—not upon the mercies of the world alone but upon the mercies of God.
29 And we have entered into their houses and taught them, and we have taught them in their streets; yea, and we have taught them upon their hills; and we have also entered into their temples and their synagogues and taught them; and we have been cast out, and mocked, and spit upon, and smote upon our cheeks; and we have been stoned, and taken and bound with strong cords, and cast into prison; and through the power and wisdom of God we have been delivered again.

I told her this is how I feel at this moment… and she was talking about how we may not see the baptisms right now but in time the Lord will show unto us the blessings of baptisms and help us find the people that are prepared. I then shared this scripture still in Alma 26:

30 And we have suffered all manner of afflictions, and all this, that perhaps we might be the means of saving some soul; and we supposed that our joy would be full if perhaps we could be the means of saving some.
31 Now behold, we can look forth and see the fruits of our labors; and are they few? I say unto you, Nay, they are many; yea, and we can witness of their sincerity, because of their love towards their brethren and also towards us.

I told her that I’m waiting for this day to be able to see the fruits of my labors and to be as confident as Ammon was in the Lord and in God I know I am a big baby at times and complain a lot… but the biggest excuse that I can come up with is that I’m human and the natural man is an enemy to God and has been since the fall of Adam… lol But that’s what I’m learning to do is to control myself and the natural man that’s bigger than an elephant at times.

No one is perfect and to be quite frank, no one can ever be perfect without the power of the Atonement. This is one of the themes of the Gospel that President Vasquez is pushing us to study and to apply in our lives! To understand the Atonement we come to understand the love and mercy of Christ. We come to a knowledge of our fallen state and our filthiness and then come to our savior for forgiveness, for cleanliness, for strength against the adversary. I think my favorite scriptures on the Atonement is Alma 7:11-13:

11 And he shall go forth, suffering pains and afflictions and temptations of every kind; and this that the word might be fulfilled which saith he will take upon him the pains and the sicknesses of his people.

12 And he will take upon him death, that he may loose the bands of death which bind his people; and he will take upon him their infirmities, that his bowels may be filled with mercy, according to the flesh, that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities.

13 Now the Spirit knoweth all things; nevertheless the Son of God suffereth according to the flesh that he might take upon him the sins of his people, that he might blot out their transgressions according to the power of his deliverance; and now behold, this is the testimony which is in me.

I love the mission! I love serving my Lord and Savior! I love learning more about his tender mercies! I love serving these people of El Salvador! I sometimes feel like I’m one of them, Salvadoreans, and wish that they would understand the importance of what we as missionaries are doing for them. To help them come to Christ and receive the blessings that are in store for them, if only they would just allow 10 mins of their precious time and put aside their prideful beliefs of Catholics, Evangelic’s, Baptists… (the list is endless) The Three Nephite’s and John the Beloved must be aching from the sins of these people… For Christ told them that they wouldn’t feel pain, nevertheless for the sins of the world will they feel… If i feel this way for just the people of my area… I cant imagine what it would feel like for those 4 apostles of Christ…

I´ll say it again that I love this work and this time that I have to be able to walk those very streets that our Lord and Savior walked and see the things He´s seen. Its a miracle on how we can get up every morning with the strength to continually move forward and never give up at the moment of hardships… The power of God is mighty in the sight of His children, even more so to the eyes of the natural man.

I love you all and hope that your week is starting off great! Enjoy your summer break those that are ending the school year and be safe! Thank you all for your prayers and letters that I have received it helps more than you know!

Sinceramente,
Elder Blanco (White)

This entry was posted in Letters, emails and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

