Mission Craziness

September 14, 2015

Queridos Familiares y amigos!

Well, this week has been pretty interesting… My companion has been sick all week and he didn’t feel all to good working a lot BUT when we did leave to work for a little bit we found quite a few new investigators that are interested to listen and to learn of the Gospel! Our zone leaders came to help us out in our area to accomplish some of our goals that we had for the week! They came and did splits with us and they helped us learn the new way of beginning the first lesson with the investigators. The new way President Vasquez wants us to do it is using john 5:16 – 17 and using a lot of examples of how Christ was baptized! While using this new method of course we still have to come up with some inspired questions so that they can think and teach themselves, while we can know how much they actually know! After all is said and done, we invite them to be baptized, put a date for their baptism and if they don’t want anything to do with us afterwards, ya we don’t go back lol but if they are interested enough but don’t accept the baptismal date, we give them the 3 main pamphlets, The restoration, the plan of salvation, and the gospel of Jesus Christ! To be honest the spirit is felt a lot stronger than just trying to ask questions, getting to know the person or family, then trying finding a way that they will progress and grow the desire to learn the Gospel. I remember what Elder Alonzo, from the quorum of the 70 and area presidency, said, “Everyone has a necessity, and everyone has one in common. Its to be baptized into the true church of God.” With this new way of starting the first lessons with new investigators will help us find those that are ready to be “harvested” for baptism!

So, I’m doing well! I’m getting along with my companion! Which is nice haha it makes the world turn and makes the time go so much faster! haha To be honest we are always laughing, joking around, making smart remarks, but in the lessons, we work well together, the spirit is felt so strongly in our lessons. I can say that my companion, Elder Velasquez, and my last companion, Elder Rios, I have gotten along with well! But I can say that if it wasn’t for the changes God has made in me, in my time here in the mission, I probably wouldn’t be getting along so well with any of my companions 😉

I have come to realize that the mission is like a major hospital. Young adults from 18 to 22 years of age go on missions, hoping to help Heavenly Father find his lost sheep, find those that are prepared for the Gospel, but sometimes we don’t give thought of ourselves. When we go out on the mission we aren’t even close to being perfect, to be honest we sometimes go without a true repentance and those first 6 months just seem to never end…. But Heavenly Father is giving us the treatment we need to feel better, to be stronger, and to change. While we make the journey to finding people to teach, we are starting to heal ourselves spiritually and physically as well. Heavenly Father changes sick young adults to healthy giants that will make major changes in the future! I say this because EVERYONE looks up to us as angels and spiritual giants… To be honest I feel like its a GIANT weight put upon my shoulders because I DO NOT feel like an angel or a spiritual giant. haha I actually feel worse than being a normal member, or those investigators that I teach. Oh how I wish I could be what everyone think that we are, but as fallen men and women its impossible to become perfect while we are here on earth. If it wasn’t for the Atonement of Christ, we would all be lost!

Wow, I didn’t think I had that much to say to be honest haha! but its time to close this email for my time is running short! I love you all and hope your enjoying your new week! Keep your heads held high, “For [Christ] has overcome the world!”


Elder Nikolas White
El Salvador, San Salvador East Mission
“Yesterday was history, Tomorrow is a Mystery, But today is a gift… That is why it is called Present.” -Master Uguay

¨If ever there is a tomorrow when we´re not together. There is something you must always remember,
You are braver than you believe,
Stronger than you seem, and
smarter than you think.

(Mommy Moment: Sometimes I have no idea what Elder White even says!!)

This entry was posted in Letters, emails, Mommy Moments and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

