Spiders, guts and blessings

September 21, 2015

Buenas Mis Familiares y Amigos!

Well, I’m going to start this email with a little scene that happened during lunch yesterday… XD So as we sat at the table getting ready to eat at our cooks house, we sit under a lemon tree which is pretty big! We started eating peacefully, joking around, having fun when the cooks niece, Brenda, came to talk with us as we finished eating. Like 10 mins after we were talking she noticed a branch that was hanging down and notice a big black object dangling off the branch…. Come to find out it was a giant tarantula!!!! Wow…. It was bigger than my hands… and my hands are pretty big xD!!! sadly I didn’t have my camera to take pictures… I’ll have to steal the pics from Brendas phone ^_^ BUT I’m not at the best part! We tried to move it to the other side of the yard but it didn’t want to go… so it went under the table to get to the wall of the house next to us and we thought ok as long as it goes away… when suddenly a CHICKEN came out of no where and started pecking to death the spider…. WOW poor spider didn’t even stand a chance…. The Chicken started ripping off the legs of the spider and started pecking at its body trying to kill it… It managed to ripe off like 5 legs before it died from a peck to the body… This carnivore started eating the legs and the guts that squirted out of its body then it went to the spider all curled up but still pretty big in size, ATE THE ENTIRE SPIDER!!!! wow… and the chicken wasn’t even that big… LOL that was the highlight of the week and of yesterday! XD
(Mommy Note: I think I just threw up in my mouth!!)

So during the week of 15th of September is the Independence of Central America! So we didn’t really have much success this day.. lol so we basically visited members and less actives that were home that day…. We couldn’t find any of our investigators… and the crazy thing is that we actually arrived early to our visits and NO ONE was home… xD This happened on Saturday as well but we had no idea why on Saturday we didn’t have any success… 😛

Thursday was Cristobol’s Birthday and invited us to his house to have lunch with him and his family in Ozatlan! This area, on a bus, is about an hour away from Usulutan… but it was worth the trip… haha we were able to eat with the family and to talk with the family! Its the Medina Family! They have rarely missed going to church for 14 years!!!! Now that’s Faithful members 😉 haha

Well, right now we are working with a few investigators that are progressing for baptism really well! but because of personal matters and family problems they cant get baptized… One of our investigators, Melany, has problems with her parents… Her parents don’t want her to go to church or to get baptized but gives her permission to listen to the lessons and to learn…. Its rather frustrating when parents do this… But that’s how the mission is! Shes progressing really well, we have to teach her at the houses of the members because her parents don’t want anything to do with us… but we are praying that the Lord will change the hearts of her parents, and allow her to go to church and to get baptized! Another Investigator is Thomas…. This guy has been listen to the missionaries, going to church, reading, and praying for his answer to know if the church is true… He KNOWS that its true because he TOLD US but the only problem is that he puts his personal matters FIRST OR something JUST has to happen with the family and he cant go to his OWN baptism… lol its really frustrating….

Well, I have been well! Still trying to believe the fact that I have 6 months left! I feel like its so far away but at the same time its so close…. I feel the power of the Atonement changing me… I feel like I’m out walking the same paths that the Savior walked during his ministry, but thanks to the power of the Atonement it carries me step from step! I love these people, I love to serve them, I love the friendships that I’m making that I know that can last for the eternities! I love the saying: “to make a friend, share your time. To make a friend for eternity, share your time and the Gospel!” I hope I can live worthily enough be able to be with my family and my future family and the friends I have made for all the eternities!

Oh, there is one story left I would like to share! So we were doing a service project, I can say I wouldn’t like to do this type of service again, making a well… Yes a WELL for water!!!! But as we were finishing up the morning putting a little more work in, our 1st counselor of the bishopric, Roberto Sanchez, called us and needed help with a blessing for his daughter. She has been suffering from problems with her digestive system. She was gravely ill and the doctors were worried because she couldn’t use the bathroom for many days… she was pretty clogged up and it was affecting her body badly… So in dire need, he came to us asking for help… I can say I never feel adequate or feel like the person they think and see us as. Spiritual Giants and perfect beings…. This day I didn’t feel like I was adequate enough to give the blessing to her and her parents and the elders in my district were asking me to do so… Lol I always hated giving blessings in Spanish…. I feel like I can’t come up with the words well enough but I can say that the words that I do say and that do come are not mine… Hermano Sanchez described that the room was filled with the calming spirit all over the room as I gave the blessing… I was shocked… I felt the same before and after the blessing O_O sometimes I don’t understand why we don’t feel the spirit even though others in the same room do! Even if we are trying to do everything right!

Well my times up but I hope that this week will be well for all of you! I hope that you will be guided and protected by the spirit of the Lord! Try to find that peaceful state to be able to feel the spirit in every moment! Even if there is chaos flying all about you, Look for that peaceful state of mind and Spirit!

I love you all!!


Elder Nikolas White
El Salvador, San Salvador East Mission
“Yesterday was history, Tomorrow is a Mystery, But today is a gift… That is why it is called Present.” -Master Uguay

¨If ever there is a tomorrow when we´re not together. There is something you must always remember,
You are braver than you believe,
Stronger than you seem, and
smarter than you think.
But the most important thing is even if we´re apart, I´ll always be with you¨ -A.A. Mine

This entry was posted in Letters, emails and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

