December 7, 2015

Queridas, Amables Familias Y Amigos!

So we had a few baptisms on Sunday! With the help of the ward missionaries we baptized a family of 4!!! And Elder Tay, on the right side of the picture, baptized the little girl! It was really cool to be honest, I never had so many baptisms in one day!!! The Lord is blessing me with these baptisms, I must be doing something right if he is blessing me with them 😉 haha.

I am so happy that I don’t have transfers this change! I get to stay here in Ozatlan, Usulutan! Sure I wont be able to see all the members and investigators that I want still in my old area but at least it gives another reason why they should go to church, so they can see me ^_^ hehehe 😉 As a joke I always say this to some of the less actives and some of the Investigators that I once taught!

Now my father asked me some questions to help him out with his lesson in High Priest quorum so I’m going to add this to my email! WARNING: my spelling is getting worse… don’t laugh :(((

Question 1: As a missionary in El Salvador, What are some restored truths, that you believe that your part of the world is hungry for and can you give examples from a missionaries eyes?

Answer 1: Some Gospel Truths that these people need, that are prepared for it, is knowing there is a church of God that has all the restored Gospel and all the truthfulness there of. Because here in El Salvador there are little churches down every block, every street, and every corner. These churches aren’t anything big, but they confuse so many people with different doctrines. Its just like the time of Joseph Smith with the different churches, fighting against one another, and teaching each principle in many different ways, by their own understandings. They don’t realize the necessity of the Gift of the Holy Ghost and the sacred ordinances like baptism and those that we do in the Temple!
Another is the power of the Atonement. Many believe that they are lost and can’t be saved because of their many sins. Many religions believe that there is only one repentance process and there is not anything else to worry about. Its something that President Vasquez has asked us to understand the doctrine and principles from this theme. The moment they understand these two gospel truths they are basically converted to the Gospel. If they aren’t converted there are other truths that fits the needs of the investigators.

Question 2: In what ways can each of us, regardless of our circumstances, share the gospel? What do people in El Salvador do to share the gospel, because from what I have seen and heard from you their circumstances are much less than ours, so, what do they do?

Answer 2: To share the Gospel, to be honest, there are many ways we can share the gospel with others. The best ways to be honest, is through the friends or family we have a certain bond or trust that allows us to get down deeper in the lives of others without offending others and without them feeling uncomfortable. Once you have gained their trust look for key words or the lifestyle of the person to find out the needs of the people. Teaching something to others that just had a death in the family or other other crisis that the gospel can help them grow their faith and their hope! Just teaching small basic principles of the gospel for the need of the investigator that can touch them in their hearts, right down to the core! I can’t write all the amazing experiences that i have had personally and with others because i never would finish. But some that i would love to share are about two brothers, Mario and Luis. (I always loved saying “There’s the Mario brothers, Mario and Luigi!”) They are the reason that I have opened a new area because of the work they are doing. Since the missionaries were taking away they started visiting the less actives and their closest friends and teaching them the little knowledge of the church and of the scriptures. They are recent converts of 5 to 6 months and within less than 3 weeks we had 4 baptisms for the 6 of December. But the point is that by the small and simple things we can change the lives of many! These brothers are humble bread makers, but the lord blessed them with the desire to serve others. Its so simple to share the gospel but we tend to make things harder than they should for the fear that we have.

Question 3: Do you have any experiences with an investigator who was converted because of the Book of Mormon? What did they feel while reading if? how did the spirit touch them through reading the Book of Mormon and at what point did they come to realize that it was true; therefore realizing that the Church was also true?

Answer 3: I don’t know if you remember one of my investigators called Francisco when i was in Berlin? Well, this man was praying for the chance to hear from the missionaries again. before he loved the Gospel and wanted to be baptized. He knew everything about the church was true, the only thing is that his wife didn’t allow him to get baptized. so for many years he waited for this day once again. the day we showed up to his house he thought two angels came down from heaven to visit him. I will never forget the day he held the book of Mormon in his hands once again! he called it “la perla de gran precio” (the Pearl of Great Price). Everyday we passed by his house, visiting him or not, he would always be sitting in his chair reading the book of Mormon, if he didn’t have work to do. He knew that everything about the church was true. The day of his baptism was a day of great happiness! Though I almost killed him, he was the happiest guy I could have met. I told him Three times how the steps of baptism was so he wouldn’t swallow a bunch of water or breath in the water. I honestly thought I killed him. but I remember the joke you made that day. At least he was cleaned from his passed sins and would have died in paradise… Seeing how he still lacked the second part of baptism he couldn’t enter into the kingdom of god. But gratefully he was confirmed and still is living and a really active member!

Wow… I never typed so much in my life 😉 haha Just kidding! I actually liked answering these questions. It helped me remember my areas and the many experiences that i had here in the mission and to think all of this time is coming to an end X_X Not to be trunky or baggie but apparently my family has received my flight itinerary… Wow… xD Its crazy how fast time is going by!!!!

I want to wish my Baby brother Nathan a happy birthday and hope that he will enjoy HIS day tomorrow!!!

I look forward for Christmas to be able to talk to my family through Skype one last time!!! I’m kind of nervous… Seeing how everyone has changed x.x Wow i’m not prepared at all!!! hahaha 😉

I love you guys so much and hope that everything is going well for you all!


Elder Nikolas White
El Salvador, San Salvador East Mission
“Yesterday was history, Tomorrow is a Mystery, But today is a gift… That is why it is called Present.” -Master Uguay

¨If ever there is a tomorrow when we´re not together. There is something you must always remember,
You are braver than you believe,
Stronger than you seem, and
smarter than you think.
But the most important thing is even if we´re apart, I´ll always be with you¨ -A.A. Mine

DSCN1362[1]

DSCN1356[1]

This entry was posted in Letters, emails, photos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

